Chocolate cake with mocca cream topping

For the collective birthday dinner for my boyfriend and his father I made a quite basic chocolate with mocca cream. It turned out really delicious!

_DSC0785 (Small)

The chocolate cake recipe comes from my mother, who used to bake this chocolate cake as a nice weekend snack now and then. I always enjoyed it a lot, and have later figured out that it is a chocolate cake with very versatile qualities. It’s pretty much a basic sponge cake with butter.

Chocolate cake

_DSC0716

As I forgot to place the butter amongst the other ingredients when taking the picture you’ll get a seperate picture of the melted butter so that there’s no confusion. 😉

_DSC0722

Ingredients:

3 eggs

3 dl sugar

150 g melted butter

4.5 dl flour

2.5 tsp baking powder

1.5dl milk

2 tsp vanilla sugar

1 tbs cocoa powder

Procedure

1. Whip eggs and sugar

_DSC0719

2. Mix the dry ingredients together

3. Add all the ingredients to the eggnog and mix carefully together

4. Butter a long pan and cover it in confectioner’s sugar or flour

_DSC0723_DSC0727

5. Bake in oven on 225°C for 15 minutes

_DSC0732

Now let it cool while making the cream.

Mocca cream

This mocca butter cream I learned to make from the Norwegian baking blog passion4baking.com. Manuela, the lady running the blog, has a lot of great and easy recipes so take a look if you don’t know her and can understand Norwegian!

Ingredients

200 g butter

200 g chocolate

3 dl confectioner’s sugar

2 tbs mocca extract or coffee

_DSC0747

Procedure

1. Melt the chocolate in the microwave oven

_DSC0749

2. Add all the ingredients to a bowl

_DSC0758

3. Mix until it becomes nice and fluffy

_DSC0762

Assembly

Because I’m going to use the rest of the cake for something else, I only cut out a small part of the cake to use now, a square of a little bit more than a third.

I placed the cream into a decorating bag with the tip Wilton 1M, then made ruffles along the sides and roses on top of the cake. This is only the third time I have done so myself, and the first time on a whole cake, so I’m not the one to give advice in how it’s done, but it’s quite easy so look up a few tutorials and I’m sure you can do it!

The really nice thing with this cream is that it stiffens in the fridge, so that the shapes won’t be crushed if somebody tries to stick their finger into it to steal some cream. They’ll simply have to wait for a piece. 😉

_DSC0785 (Small)

Hope you enjoyed! With the rest of the cake I’m going to try to make cakepops for the first time, so that will be really exciting!

– Juno

