Homemade Hamburgers

This Saturday I decided to make hamburgers from scratch. I usually don’t buy finished burgers anyway, but I always buy already minced meat for them. This time I even minced it myself in the KitchenAid food grinder. I think the nice thing about doing it this way, is that you know that it is pure meat with no added water or anything else. The other thing I usually buy (out of laziness), is the breads. This time I decided not to be so lazy and make something with actual taste.

Hamburger breads

(For 6 breads)

Ingredients

20 g fresh yeast
35 g butter
2,3 dl milk
A bit less than 1/2 ts salt
200 g (half) white flour
130 g spelt/wholemeal flour

_DSC0889

It’s a bit troublesome to translate the flour names, as I’m not certain of their English names. Instead of normal white flour I used something directly translated into half white flour. If any of you know if this is in fact the correct translation or not, I would appreciate your help! The spelt/wholemeal flour is fabulous as it gives some extra taste to the breads.

_DSC0899_DSC0902

Procedure

1) Melt butter in a cooking pot

_DSC0894

2) Add the milk and take off the heat. Test the temperature with the inside of your wrist. If it feels warm; leave it to rest a bit, if it feels cold; place back on the heat. Check the temperature frequently until you cannot feel it when it hits your wrist. Then it should be a perfect 37°C.

_DSC0895

3) Add the yeast and stir well. If the fresh yeast has been crumbled, like in the ingredients picture, it will mix in faster.

4) Stir together the flours and salt, then add the liquid in a well the center of the flour.

_DSC0906

6) The dough is quite sticky when it is done. Spread some flour on top of it and cover with a towel.

_DSC0913

7) Leave in a room temperatured or slighly above spot for 1.5-2 hours.

_DSC0921

8) Beat it by hand, shape it into a sausage and cut it into 6 equally large pieces.

_DSC0923

9) Shape into round balls, press flat on a baking tray with baking paper, create a cross with a knife for a nice pattern and sprinkel with the spelt/wholemeal flour. Leave under a towel for another 30-45 minutes.

_DSC0928

10) Bake in oven on 200°C for 12-15 minutes. To check if they’re done, lift a bun and knock on it’s bottom with your nail. If it sounds hollow, it’s done.

_DSC0960

Leave them to cool on a rack while making the burgers.

Hamburgers

Ingredients

160-200 g of meat per person
salt and pepper
garlic
available herbs/spices
_DSC0933

Procedure

This is quite simple. You simply mince the meat in a meat grinder. If you don’t have one, then have this done at the butcher’s or just buy finished mince.

_DSC0935

_DSC0945

Then you add all the spices you wish. I added far too little of everything, so next time I’ll double the amount.

_DSC0953

After this you simply mix it well, divide it into wished amount of burgers, and shape them into burgers by first shaping them into round balls, then flatten them with your hand. I never attempt to make perfectly shaped burgers, because I like the slightly home made look to things.

_DSC0956

Fry them in a grilling pan. How long really depends on how you like them inside. I never actually take the time but just keep a close eye on them instead.

Assembly

While the burgers were frying, I cut up some onion, cucumber and tomato and mixed it with salt and pepper.

_DSC0962

Close to the end of the frying time I placed a small slice of cheese on the burger. Usually I would want bacon too, but I forgot this time. I then assembled it all the way burgers usually are assembled, and voila: Something delicious that was made from scratch.

_DSC0965

– Juno

P.S.: The pictures aren’t the best this time, sorry about that. My flash stopped working, so the first pictures are without flash at all. After a while I ran tired of not having a flash to use, so I improvised my own napkin softbox for the internal flash of my DSLR. It still wasn’t as good as my external flash, but it’s good enough until I figure out what the problem is.

