Chocolate macarons

_DSC1038

Today I had my first serious take on macarons. In this first go I decided to mostly focus on learning the recipe, than on their beauty. This was mostly because I’m out of decorating bags and couldn’t use my Wilton tips when making the biscuits/applying the cream.

While they were in the oven I was really nervous they wouldn’t rise and get skirts, but I was relieved to find that they grew the way that they should. The only challenge I had was that the batter was a bit too thick- most likely because the eggs I used were too small. Overall the result was great though, and I hope I can focus more on their looks next time I make them!

Macarons

Yields 20 macarons

Ingredients

160 ml almond flour
220 ml confectioner’s sugar
2 large egg whites (at room temperature)
30 ml sugar

_DSC1003

Procedure

Make sure you have everything at hand before you start. Start by sifting together the almond flour and confectioner’s sugar.

Second, whip the egg whites to soft peaks. Then add sugar while continuing to whipp, one third at a time. Continue whipping until the peaks are stiff and glossy. At this point you should also add the colour if you wish to colour the biscuits.

_DSC1006

Fold half of the almond/confectioner’s sugar mixture into the egg whites, making sure that it is properly mixed before you carefully add the second half. Add the batter to a decorating bag with a tip or an opening in the bag of about 1-1.5 cm. Place batter on a baking sheet in small circles of 2.5 cm. I didn’t have any decorating bags left, so I used a normal bag. I wasn’t able to gain the same amount of control with this, so mine are a bit uneven in size. You’ll almost be able to fill out two trays with macarons.

_DSC1009

Leave them to rest for 20-30 minutes so that they can become flat on the top. Because my batter was a bit thick, this didn’t happen. In the meantime, heat the oven to 160°C. When ready, place one baking tray on the second uppermost level in your oven, and one on the second lowest. After 8 minutes, switch the trays. After another 5 minutes you should start checking them regularly. As soon as they get a little golden, they are done. If the lower board doesn’t get golden, place it back on the top when you take the upper out of the oven.

_DSC1012

Now, let them cool while you make the filling.

Chocolate filling

I had a small challenge with this cream. As I added the butter, it melted and divided from the chocolate and cream. Therefore I’m altering the original recipe a bit in order to hopefully compensate for this.

Ingredients

100 ml heavy cream
125 g coarsly chopped dark chocolate
25 g butter

_DSC1015

Procedure

Heat the cream to it’s boiling point in a saucing pan, then take it off the heat. _DSC1017

Add the coarsly chopped chocolate and stir until it’s all melted and mixed into the cream.

_DSC1018

Let cool to about room temperature, then add the butter and stir thoroughly. Use an electric mixer if necescary. Place in the fridge for 10 minutes, and it’s ready for use.

_DSC1022

Assembly

Place 1 tsp of chocolate cream onto one biscuit and press together with another biscuit in a twisting motion. Here you can also use a decorating bag to place the cream more nicely onto the biscuit.

_DSC1030

Leave to cool in the fridge.

_DSC1028

Hope you enjoyed!

– Juno

