Chocolate cake

First off: I’m in Norway! That means I’m using a mac, and I truly have no idea about how to use the blog client I’m writing in right now, so I hope this entry will look alright in the end…


So it’s my dad’s 50th birthday today, and I’ve been busy baking! Yesterday I made a marzipan cake (sponge cake filled with strawberries, vanilla cream and covered with marzipan), which he brought to work. Today I made a chocolate cake to eat at home.

As I already shared a lot of marzipan cakes with you, I’ll only blog about the chocolate cake. It’s a proper heavy and gooey chocolate cake. The original recipe came from BBC, but I made some changes to make it fit to what ingredients were available.


_AAC9354.jpg


Chocolate cake

Ingredients

  • 200 g 60-70% dark chocolate
  • 200 g butter in small pieces
  • 1 tbsp instant nescafe
  • 125 ml cold water
  • 170 g flour
  • 2/3 tsp baking powder
  • 400 g sugar (golden caster or normal)
  • 25 g cocoa powder
  • 3 medium eggs
  • 75 ml buttermilk

(The picture lacks sugar as I somehow neglected the high amount of sugar in the recipe until I was in the middle of making the cake and noticed that something was missing.)

_AAC9297.jpg

Procedure

1) Mix the nescafe with cold water, then pour over the butter and chocolate in a cooking pot. Heat it until everything is melted.

_AAC9301.jpg

_AAC9306.jpg

_AAC9316.jpg

2) Mix all the dry ingredients together and use your hand or sieve it to eliminate any lumps.

_AAC9312.jpg

3) Beat the eggs to a stiff eggnog and mix in the buttermilk. Mix together all ingredients in a bowl.

_AAC9323.jpg

4) Butter and flour a round cake tin. I used one a 23cm tin, but you can easily use a smaller one. Pour the batter into the tin.

_AAC9325.jpg

5) Cook in the oven on the lowest level at 150 degrees celcius for around 1h30. Check it regularly with a cake pin. It should come out almost dry (as it’s a moist cake, some might still stick onto the pin when it’s done). Mine had to stay in the oven for 1h40.

_AAC9329.jpg

6) Cool on a rack while preparing the chocolate ganache filling. This cake easily cracks a bit on top and must be handled carefully when moving around, as these cracks may lead to the whole cake splitting (which indeed happened to me).

Chocolate ganache

I didn’t take pictures of this, but here’s the recipe:

Ingredients

  • 200 g dark chocolate of the same kind you used in the cake
  • 280 ml heavy whipping cream
  • 2 tbsp golden caster sugar or 3 tbsp normal sugar

Procedure

1) Heat the cream and sugar in a pot almost to their boiling point (but don’t let the cream boil!)

2) Pour over the chocolate and stir until it’s well mixed

Assembly

1) Cut the cake into 2-3 layers horizontally, depending on how high the cake is.

2) Add a thin layer of ganache between each layer, then top the cake with the rest of the ganache

3) Even it out with a spatula

_AAC9349.jpg

_AAC9361.jpg

Enjoy!

