Basic Scones

I didn’t like scones when I was little. I’ve later figured out that it must have been because I always tried them with butter and with all the butter that’s already in the dough of a scone it simply was too much for me to have some on top as well! The consistency the butter, the whole egg and the baking powder instead of yeast produce in scones, is however fabulous! Now I prefer to eat them with jam or just as they are. I also found out that they fit perfectly to cucumber salad with white balsamico.

_DSC1257

So here’s a recipe for you all. It’s quite basic cooking, but the product is simply too good to be true (considering how little work it is)! My  boyfriend had me promise not to make them too often because he’d just eat them all instantly.

Ingredients

400 ml flour

60 ml brown or caster sugar

2.5 tsp baking woder

1/4 tsp salt

1 egg

120 ml milk

150 g butter

_DSC1237

Procedure

Mix all the dry ingredients and cut the butter into them. I just do this by hand as I don’t have a cutter, and it works just as fine.

_DSC1240

Mix the milk and the egg togetherand pour it into the flour/butter mixture.

_DSC1244

Knead it into a dough either by hand or by machine.

_DSC1246

If it’s too sticky you can add a bit more flour, but make sure that it doesn’t get too dry!

Kead the dough outon the bench, shaped it into a sausage and cut it into 8 pieces, which you turn into balls.

_DSC1247

The dough will open up a bit in the oven where there are cracks, so try to place the cracks perfectly on the side if you can. Scones are not supposed to be perfectly round, at least I prefer the slightly homemade look of having them a bit uneven, so I shape them up a bit with my fingertips after placing them on the baking tray.

_DSC1249

Now bake in the oven for 12-15 minutes at 200°C, then cool on a baking rist, and voila! Lovely scones.

This is only a basic recipe. You can do many interesting variations, and I’ll probably blog about some later.

_DSC1257

Have a lovely week!

– Juno

