Bagels

I always thought bagels looked fabulous, but I’ve only tried it a couple of times in my life. I vaguely remember my dad making a batch some years back. I was so fascinated about placing dough in boiling water! It was long before I was personally interested in baking however, so I didn’t pay too much attention.

_DSC1532_v2

Thise ended up being quite the research project, where I attempted to take in things from several different recipes I found online. I have to admit that they weren’t 100 % successful, but I was quite proud of the result considering it being my first try! The only true problem was that they were too heavy. This can hopefully be solved by doing a shorter amount of pre-rising and rising the finished shaped product for 30-45 minutes instead of 15 minutes, like I did.

_DSC1530_v2

So here comes the recipe!

Ingredients

Makes 5 bagels

265 g+ flour

1tsp dry yeast

1 tbsp suugar

1/2 tsp salt

water (approximately 50°C)

1.5 tsp sugar in boiling water

1 egg beaten w/ 1 tsp milk or water

_DSC1413

Procedure

Mix together all the dry ingredients. Add warm water gradually while beating the dough until slightly sticky. I used 250 ml of water.

_DSC1416

Kndead the dough by hand for a few minutes, adding flour until it is nice and firm. I probably could’ve kneaded mine a bit more…

_DSC1419

Cover a bowl in oil and place the dough into it, turning the dough over once so that it is also covered in the oil.

_DSC1422

_DSC1424

Now leave for 30-45 minutes, or until doubled in size.

_DSC1477

Knead the dough for several minutes. I didn’t do this at first, and the result was a very ugly-looking war bagel! After the kneading, all the air will be beaten out of it and it should be back to the same size as before.

_DSC1478

Now for the fun part! Divide the dough into 5 parts. Roll each part into a sausauge.

_DSC1481

Shape the sausage into a circle where the two ends overlap each other.

_DSC1482

And now place as many fingers as you can space (flat) inside the hole and start rolling back and forward to seal the edges.

_DSC1483

If it doesn’t seem to connect properly, knead the dough some more. If it still doesn’t work, place some oil or water on the ends to help them bind.

_DSC1486

I did quite a bad job at making them even in size, but I didn’t really care too much either! If the size difference is too big though, it might be a problem when baking them, so try to keep them slightly even.

_DSC1480

After 15 minutes rising they looked like this:

_DSC1498

I rather think you should rise them for 30-45 minutes after shaping them, however. That might give the yeast a chance at producing some new air bubbles inside the bagels and make them lighter.

Prepare boiling water with 1.5 tablespoons of sugar. Simultaneously start preheating your oven to 200°C. When the bagels are ready, place them in the boiling water, 30 seconds on each side. After this they look quite ugly, but don’t worry!

_DSC1501

Place them on a towel to dry while you prepare a mixture of egg with water or milk and find whatever you want to top your bagels with. I chose sesame seeds.

_DSC1502

Place the bagels on a baking tray covered with a baking sheet, apply the egg mixture and cover in your choice of topping. I forgot to take a picture at this time, so I have no picture of how they looked before they went into the oven. Bake them for about 30 minutes or until golden.

_DSC1509

Now let cool for a while. Eat as is or cut in half to add whatever goodies to them you want!

_DSC1528

– Juno

