Oreo cake

Back when I started learning to bake, my knowledge of the topic and the range of possibilities was really low. It happened a few times that a friend would explain to me this extremely awesome cake they had once but would never even dream of being able to bake themselves, and I’d suddenly crave for it as well, despite barely being able to imagine in my head what they were describing. One of these things was the Oreo cake from T.G.I. Friday’s. I first imagined a gigantic Oreo, but soon understood that this cake was a whole lot more complex than that. Chocolate cake layered with cream cheese filling with crushed Oreos in the cream and on top.

_DSC1737

The first time I attempted making this cake it took me about a day or two to finish. I laugh a bit at it now, because the recipe really isn’t that difficult. It was just a bit too much to grasp for me at the time. This time it also took quite long, but that was mostly due to the picture taking and me having forgotten a couple of ingredients, so that I had to take a trip to the store in the middle of everything. What really takes long, is baking the cake bases. I’ve read that each layer should be baked seperately for this cake, rather than baking the whole batter in one and then cutting it into layers afterwards. For those of you actually having 2-3 cake tins of the same size, this probably isn’t much of an obstacle, but I only have one of each size and therefore have to wait until one is baked and the tin’s removed and cooled down and cleaned before I can bake the next layer. Next time I’ll just try to bake the whole thing and cut it afterwards, I think.

_DSC1767_psd

I wanted to make a three layer oreo cake, but I soon realised that that didn’t work too well, as the tin I’d used was a bit too small, producing too thick layers. I could have made one of these eternally tall cakes, but I rather decided to make one two-layered cake and one single layered. This also gave me the opportunity to take pictures of a piece of one of them, as I was supposed to bring the two-layered one untouched for a dinner party.

 

_DSC1788_psd

Now, for the recipe!

Chocolate cake

Ingredients

100 g softened butter

280 g sugar

2 eggs

280 g flour

100 g cocoa powder

3/4 tsp baking soda

2/3 tsp salt

1/4 tsp baking powder

2.4 dl buttermilk

1 tsp vanilla extract

_DSC1675_psd

Procedure

Preheat the oven to 180°C.

Cream the butter, sugar and eggs together.

_DSC1677_psd

Add all the other ingredients. If your flour or cocoa powder is particularily clumpy, it would be best to sift it first.

_DSC1679_psd

Mix on low speed in the mixer or with a spatula.

_DSC1681_psd

Grease and flour 1-3 cake tins of 22-24cm, depending on how many layers you want. If you want several layers, but only have one tin of the same size, you need to do one at a time and just repeat the next steps until you reached the wished number of layers. This cake batter has no problem with waiting for the tin to be ready again. If you can do all of the layers at a time, use the hot air setting on your oven and take the temperature down to 175°C.

Add a 1/2 or 1/3 of the batter to the cake tin. If you don’t trust your eyes, you can weigh up the batter into seperate bowls first.

_DSC1691_psd

Bake in the preheated oven for 15-25 minutes depending on the thickness of the cake layer. It’s done when a cake tester or toothpick comes out dry. You can remove it from the tin immediately (as long as you greased and floured the tin properly) and place it upside on a rist to make it’s round shape a bit  flatter.

_DSC1695_psd

Now clean the tin and repeat if you need to use the same one again for the next layer. Then grease and flour, and bake the next round of cake batter. When they’re all done, let them cool on a rist until they’re done completely cold.

_DSC1704_psd

In the meantime you need to make the cream filling for the cake.

Oreo Cream Cheese Filling

Ingredients

100 g softened butter

230 g cream cheese

2.5 dl sugar

5 dl whipping cream

24 oreo cookies

_DSC1749

I was left with a lot of leftovers after this, so if you make it in a really small tin like I did, you can half the recipe.

Procedure

To crush your oreos, place them in a zipper bag and use a rolling pin to crush them.

_DSC1742

Eliminate any still big pieces by crushing them with your hand through the bag. Keep the bag because you’ll need it again to crush oreos for the garnish.

_DSC1743

Whip the cream into soft peaks. I decided to overwhip mine, “totally on purpose”. But that was fine too!

_DSC1751_psd

Cream together the cream cheese, sugar and butter in an electric mixer.

_DSC1752_psd

_DSC1753_psd

Now the whipped cream, cream cheese mixture and crushed oreo cookies together carefully with a spatula or spoon.

_DSC1755_psd

Garnish

Crush 8-10 Oreo cookies in the bag from earlier, a bit more coarsely this time.

_DSC1746

Assembly

Place the first layer onto a cake plate and press small pieces of baking paper under to protect the plate from the messy cream.

_DSC1757_psd

Add a good layer of the cream onto the first layer and then place the second layer on top.

_DSC1758_psd

If you add a third layer, then repeat this. If not, you can now cover the rest of the cake in cream. Place the oreo cookies you crushed onto the top of the cake and voila!

_DSC1764_psd

_DSC1806Psd

Have a lovely Easter, everyone!

– Juno

Recipe adapted from: http://meemoskitchen.blogspot.com/2008/07/tgi-friday-oreo-chocolate-cake.html#axzz1qydkm02r

